As if I didn’t have enough on my plate already I decided to go back to school … I know, right?

As some of you know, I am an EMT, and I absolutely LOVE it! I love it so much that last year I applied to Paramedic school and got in. I ended up not being able to do it because I was lead to believe that the classes were at night and they were not and I could not work a regular job with the classes, so I dropped it. I was devastated. It was like someone took a pin to my balloon. I was mopey for about a month.

In the months since I have started to plan. I decided that when my youngest child went to school full time, I would also start school. I also started talking to any Paramedic that I ran into. Asking them a whole list of questions. After my questions, they all told me the same thing, “I regret not getting my RN. There is SO much more you can do with your RN.”

medical-563427_960_720

So, after talking it over with my husband and a few closes friends of mine, I have decided to do just that. I start online prerequisites this summer and will take a year to complete them. Then I will apply for the RN program at my local Tech school. When I start the program, my youngest will be in Kindergarten like I planned.

I am both excited and nervous. It has been a long time since I have been to school and back then the only person who cared about my grades was me. Now, I have a Dom/Husband and a bossy Mama that both promise to support me even if it means applying a paddle to my butt (or encouraging my husband to do so). Not to mention my sissy who is an RN who promises to help me every step of the way, my friend from here who will be going through this with me, and all the other very important to me people who have come into my life recently who will be there for me in every way they can.

Brave.jpg

However, I am not telling my bio family. Any of them. For a couple of reasons. 1) When I was straight from high school and considered getting my RN my mother-in-law (who is an LPN) literally laughed in my face when I said that was what I wanted to do, stating that my dyslexia will keep me from accomplishing it. 2) My family is a judgemental group of people, and I am not going to give them the chance to judge me and my decisions. So … when I graduate I will either send them each a video of me walking across the stage or invite them … I have not decided yet.

So, I will keep doing my writing on the side, it is my escape, and go to school and do this blog, and be a mom and a wife and a sub and everything else. Why?

Because it is worth it

and

I am going to be a Super Subbie!

super

 

